Callier-Scollard Violins
Craig Scollard

50 E. Green St. Suite 142
Pasadena, CA 91105
(626) 795-2870

Mon, Tue, Wed 10:00-1:00.
Thu, Fri, Sat 2:00 to 5:00

Intercom Access Code, Press:
142 and then the CALL button:

Upcoming Events  

<< >>September 2021
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   
Yelp Reviews

Here are some unedited Yelp reviews listed by their posting order.


Comments (40)
Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 40
Wednesday, 07/28/2021
Philip V.
Craig is a very skilled, knowledgeable, and a caring luthier. He always finds the best solution for any repairs or restorations. Craig is also famous for his bow rehairs.
His prices are amazing and service is impeccable. Highly recommend.
Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 39
Tuesday, 06/08/2021
Aspen Q.
Great service and amazing prices!! Craig communicates greatly with his clients and understands your needs. I had a violin recently fixed here due to many recommendations, the sound is so much better, Craig also added a lot of new touches to the violin including a chin rest that helps my neck, fine tuners and polished it up quite nicely. On top of that, his bow rehairs are priced insanely well and his work is quick. That's definitely come in handy in emergency situations for me!
Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 38
Saturday, 06/05/2021
M B.
A rare find these days. Truly great service, done with care, and the best prices anywhere.
Craig is awesome.
Call around, get pricing, and you'll be here in the end and you'll end up leaving as a happy, life-long client.
Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 37
Tuesday, 05/25/2021
Paul B.
I have gone to Craig for years and years. He is honest and is a master Luther... This month, I brought a friends violin to him for bridge, tail gut, strings and bow re-hair. I had gotten an estimate from another local repairman a few weeks back. That quote was 500 bucks. Craig's price was $172.00 total! The bow re-hair was only 22 dollars!

I have contacts within a well know violin store in Oakland but Covid made travel unwise. Craig mentioned that he had a very nice Chinese Violin for an outstanding price. I shifted gears, knowing that Craig's recommendation always was outstanding and that it was probably half the price of another shop's. Well, he surprised me again! It came with a bow and case. Just plain unbelievable. But the best was to come when my friend a professional session violinist and member of 4 Los Angeles Orchestras begged me to sell it to her!!! I said sorry, better call Craig...

It is rare now a days to friend someone with old world pride of workmanship and an even temperament. But I did learn that Craig has done this work since he was 16 years old, so he know what he's doing. My highest recommendation. Great prices on strings and accessories, also.

Paul
Littlestown, PA ★★★★★
# 36
Sunday, 04/04/2021
Robert P.
I sent two bows to have re-haired and they did a great job. Even sent from the Pittsburgh area it was much cheaper to have them do it than anyone nearby. Not only that, Craig was very helpful in ways he could help fix the old heirloom bows I had, plus he did a few tweaks for free.
This is by far the best value when getting a bow re-haired, and honestly after dealing with Craig, if I have an issue with my violin I'd probably send it to him as well if they said they could do it.

This place is a class act!
Bakersfield, CA ★★★★★
# 35
Thursday, 02/11/2021
Christian L.
This is the best repair shop in L.A! Craig is a professional and only works on what your instrument needs. My violin is sounding 100% it's potential and I've been going over 15 years!
Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 34
Saturday, 02/06/2021
Armando J.
This review is long overdue. My first vist to Callier-Scollard Violins was about 3 years ago, when I decided to take my first violin class as an adult. I purchased an old bow off of craigslist that needed to be rehaired. From all the places I found, some didn't call back and others were outside of what I could afford. During a meeting the professor at PCC recommended Craig at Callier Scollard Violins. I stopped by and I was happy to find out the price was more than affordable. I was also offered expedited service at a reasonable cost, but I didn't mind the wait.

Fast forward 2021: I decide to re-varnish my violin(yes, not smart LOL) after 5 days and no signs of getting dry. I find a replacement and take it to have it, checked. To my luck, only the strings needed to be replaced. He offers to install the new strings. I just step outside because there was another customer waiting.
Few minutes later, I was on my way home ready to practice again.

I have gone back for other minor repairs and couldn't be happier.

Thanks for all the great work!
Pasadena, CA ★★★★★
# 33
Friday, 11/20/2020
Stephanie M.
First timer here! Tucked away in castle green is a violin repair shop! My son had knocked out his sound post. The gentleman was able to fix the violin super quick and was very kind! Huge relief on my part to have it fixed! Thank you! Highly recommend.
Sherman Oaks, CA ★★★★★
# 32
Sunday, 10/25/2020
M M.
Craig is a super talented luthier and incredibly fair with his pricing. I don't understand the yelp 4$..his work is superb and I always leave feeling I should have paid more.

* bow rehair is amazing at under $25

* my cello fell and the neck completely snapped off from the body. Omg!
Craig fixed it for a very very fair price and it sounded way better than before. This was not an expensive cello... but Craig treated it and me with respect and kindness which I really appreciated.

* recently I purchased a much more expensive older (1920's) German cello and brought it to Craig because I was having issues with it not sounding quite right but didn't know why. Craig is truly a "cello/violin whisperer".....he moved the sound post, adjusted the bridge, helped me choose the right strings after discussing what sound I am looking for, and did a few other things ...and the improvement in my cello's sound is literally through the roof. I can not believe the difference in sound and tone quality!!! I can't put it down. All for an incredibly low price.

Craig is exceptionally knowledgeable, fair, talented and honest. We are lucky to have him here in Southern California.
Altadena, CA ★★★★★
# 31
Thursday, 08/13/2020
Asher The N.
Should NOT be four dollar signs $$$$ on Yelp! Craig is the most reasonably priced luthier around. Not only that, but he's a nice guy and is easy to work with. He repaired and fully set up the old fiddle I brought him and gave me an idea of how it would sound when played. Not only was his work excellent, but his tonal prediction was spot on. He's friendly, he knows his stuff, and he's affordable (Without sacrificing quality I might add).
Pasadena, CA ★★★★★
# 30
Wednesday, 08/05/2020
Mary K.
Very cute location. The owner is very professional and definitely knows what he is doing.
Santa Clarita, CA ★★★★★
# 29
Monday, 07/20/2020
Judith M.
I now live 1 hour away and will still drive to this hidden gem in Pasadena. I usually get my violin bows re-haired he's efficient and charges little for his artwork. Have been coming to him ever since he was in Hollywood by (back then) Amoeba Music. I highly recommend to all my musician friends.
I do have to point out that you need to check his availability schedule since his hours vary per day.
Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 28
Friday, 07/17/2020
Lyn B.
Callier-Scollard Violins is a true gem in the strings field. I have known Craig for many decades now. The bow re-hairs are the best deal around. Craig is straightforward and honest about instruments and repairs; responsive to phone calls, and does beautiful work. Further, Craig is able to set up electric pickups for instruments, should that be a request. Along with humdrum repairs (for instance, an open seam), he has helped me with emergency issues, and instruments that need severe adjustments to make them more playable. One caveat: check the business hours listed here before you go. Highly recommended.
San Marino, CA ★★★★★
# 27
Wednesday, 07/15/2020
Ming C.
I need to fix my old 1/4 French cello which I bought it long while ago.
1/4 cello was in pretty bad shape,it had one big crack. It needs to have crack repair/glue!!
I did my google search and I found this repair shop in Pasadena.
Craig was very friendly,knowledgeable and also patient .
Most importantly,I am very impressed by his service charge.
(1/2 Cello Bow rehairs only $20)

I am very happy that Craig did a incredible job ,bring my mini cello back to alive!
I will definitely go back in the near future for my full size cello!

My Italian cello needs a new endpin and cello surface cleanup.
Graig told me that my cello did not look very dirty and suggested me to buy a cleaner to polish out the rosins. He also kindly taught me cleaning steps.
I am so happy to bring my cello back to its shine by using this $6 cleaner!!
& Endpin was perfectly set by Graig.
By the way, I spent $180 to clean a few years ago at a violin shop in Pasadena.

Previous Review: 2019-09-14

I need to fix my old 1/4 French cello which I bought it long while ago.
1/4 cello was in pretty bad shape,it had one big crack. It needs to have crack repair/glue!!
I did my google search and I found this repair shop in Pasadena.
Craig was very friendly,knowledgeable and also patient .
Most importantly,I am very impressed by his service charge.
(1/2 Cello Bow rehairs only $20)

I am very happy that Craig did a incredible job ,bring my mini cello back to alive!
I will definitely go back in the near future for my full size cello!
Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 26
Wednesday, 07/08/2020
Claudia M.
Great service with Craig. Fixed the position of the peg hole, restrung and put new shoulder rest in. Price so very reasonable and fast in and out service. Recommended highly for emergency easy repair.
Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 25
Thursday, 05/28/2020
Varoujan N.
Craig has been working on my violins for more than 30 years. I first started going to his shop in Hollywood. His work is flawless and I find that he has a special dedication to his craft and to the instruments he works on. I wouldn't want anyone else to work on my instruments. Craig has always come through for me, regardles of the damage that I inflicted on my violins and bows. I highly recommend him. He is fair, honest and most importantly, he is the best luthier around.
San Marino, CA ★★★★★
# 24
Tuesday, 05/26/2020
Michael O.
Craig is great! Personable and inexpensive. Takes care of all his customers and will steer you in the right direction. I take all my repairs and violin maintenance jobs here. Would highly recommend!
San Marino, CA ★★★★★
# 23
Tuesday, 03/10/2020
Justine L.
Craig is super nice, knowledgeable, and patient. Great service we had today, and price is reasonable!! Highly recommended!
El Monte, CA ★★★★★
# 22
Saturday, 02/22/2020
Julie S.
My inexpensive violin was recommended for change of Bridge and change of string .
Thank you Craig for doing the job real quick in time for our church performance which i need it for practice everyday


Previous Comment: 2019-12-07

My inexpensive violin was recommended for change of Bridge and change of string .
Thank you Craig for doing the job real quick in time for our church performance which i need it for practice everyday
Shafter, CA ★★★★★
# 21
Friday, 12/06/2019
Priscilla G.
Even though Guitar Center charges $35 to re-string a violin, I had it done here complimentary after I purchased strings for only $16. The gentlemen is very knowledgeable in violin stuff and offered helpful tuning tips as well.

Add your comment

 
 
Ask Us     Top    

Bass Bows   Bow Rehairs   Cello Bows   Craig Scollard   Los Angeles   Studio City   Viola Bows   Violin Bows   Violin Repairs   Basses   Cellos   Glendale   Hollywood   Pasadena   Rehair   Repairs   Violas   Violins   listed   order   posted   reviews   yelp