Callier-Scollard Violins
Craig Scollard

50 E. Green St. Suite 142
Pasadena, CA 91105
(626) 795-2870

Mon, Tue, Wed 10:00-1:00.
Thu, Fri, Sat 2:00 to 5:00

Intercom Access Code, Press:
142 and then the CALL button:

Upcoming Events  

<< >>November 2020
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
        1
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8
  9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
Yelp Reviews

Here are some unedited Yelp reviews listed by their posting order.


Comments (33)
Pasadena, CA ★★★★★
# 33
Friday, 11/20/2020
Stephanie M.
First timer here! Tucked away in castle green is a violin repair shop! My son had knocked out his sound post. The gentleman was able to fix the violin super quick and was very kind! Huge relief on my part to have it fixed! Thank you! Highly recommend.
Sherman Oaks, CA ★★★★★
# 32
Sunday, 10/25/2020
M M.
Craig is a super talented luthier and incredibly fair with his pricing. I don't understand the yelp 4$..his work is superb and I always leave feeling I should have paid more.

* bow rehair is amazing at under $25

* my cello fell and the neck completely snapped off from the body. Omg!
Craig fixed it for a very very fair price and it sounded way better than before. This was not an expensive cello... but Craig treated it and me with respect and kindness which I really appreciated.

* recently I purchased a much more expensive older (1920's) German cello and brought it to Craig because I was having issues with it not sounding quite right but didn't know why. Craig is truly a "cello/violin whisperer".....he moved the sound post, adjusted the bridge, helped me choose the right strings after discussing what sound I am looking for, and did a few other things ...and the improvement in my cello's sound is literally through the roof. I can not believe the difference in sound and tone quality!!! I can't put it down. All for an incredibly low price.

Craig is exceptionally knowledgeable, fair, talented and honest. We are lucky to have him here in Southern California.
Altadena, CA ★★★★★
# 31
Thursday, 08/13/2020
Asher The N.
Should NOT be four dollar signs $$$$ on Yelp! Craig is the most reasonably priced luthier around. Not only that, but he's a nice guy and is easy to work with. He repaired and fully set up the old fiddle I brought him and gave me an idea of how it would sound when played. Not only was his work excellent, but his tonal prediction was spot on. He's friendly, he knows his stuff, and he's affordable (Without sacrificing quality I might add).
Pasadena, CA ★★★★★
# 30
Wednesday, 08/05/2020
Mary K.
Very cute location. The owner is very professional and definitely knows what he is doing.
Santa Clarita, CA ★★★★★
# 29
Monday, 07/20/2020
Judith M.
I now live 1 hour away and will still drive to this hidden gem in Pasadena. I usually get my violin bows re-haired he's efficient and charges little for his artwork. Have been coming to him ever since he was in Hollywood by (back then) Amoeba Music. I highly recommend to all my musician friends.
I do have to point out that you need to check his availability schedule since his hours vary per day.
Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 28
Friday, 07/17/2020
Lyn B.
Callier-Scollard Violins is a true gem in the strings field. I have known Craig for many decades now. The bow re-hairs are the best deal around. Craig is straightforward and honest about instruments and repairs; responsive to phone calls, and does beautiful work. Further, Craig is able to set up electric pickups for instruments, should that be a request. Along with humdrum repairs (for instance, an open seam), he has helped me with emergency issues, and instruments that need severe adjustments to make them more playable. One caveat: check the business hours listed here before you go. Highly recommended.
San Marino, CA ★★★★★
# 27
Wednesday, 07/15/2020
Ming C.
I need to fix my old 1/4 French cello which I bought it long while ago.
1/4 cello was in pretty bad shape,it had one big crack. It needs to have crack repair/glue!!
I did my google search and I found this repair shop in Pasadena.
Craig was very friendly,knowledgeable and also patient .
Most importantly,I am very impressed by his service charge.
(1/2 Cello Bow rehairs only $20)

I am very happy that Craig did a incredible job ,bring my mini cello back to alive!
I will definitely go back in the near future for my full size cello!

My Italian cello needs a new endpin and cello surface cleanup.
Graig told me that my cello did not look very dirty and suggested me to buy a cleaner to polish out the rosins. He also kindly taught me cleaning steps.
I am so happy to bring my cello back to its shine by using this $6 cleaner!!
& Endpin was perfectly set by Graig.
By the way, I spent $180 to clean a few years ago at a violin shop in Pasadena.

Previous Review: 2019-09-14

I need to fix my old 1/4 French cello which I bought it long while ago.
1/4 cello was in pretty bad shape,it had one big crack. It needs to have crack repair/glue!!
I did my google search and I found this repair shop in Pasadena.
Craig was very friendly,knowledgeable and also patient .
Most importantly,I am very impressed by his service charge.
(1/2 Cello Bow rehairs only $20)

I am very happy that Craig did a incredible job ,bring my mini cello back to alive!
I will definitely go back in the near future for my full size cello!
Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 26
Wednesday, 07/08/2020
Claudia M.
Great service with Craig. Fixed the position of the peg hole, restrung and put new shoulder rest in. Price so very reasonable and fast in and out service. Recommended highly for emergency easy repair.
Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 25
Thursday, 05/28/2020
Varoujan N.
Craig has been working on my violins for more than 30 years. I first started going to his shop in Hollywood. His work is flawless and I find that he has a special dedication to his craft and to the instruments he works on. I wouldn't want anyone else to work on my instruments. Craig has always come through for me, regardles of the damage that I inflicted on my violins and bows. I highly recommend him. He is fair, honest and most importantly, he is the best luthier around.
San Marino, CA ★★★★★
# 24
Tuesday, 05/26/2020
Michael O.
Craig is great! Personable and inexpensive. Takes care of all his customers and will steer you in the right direction. I take all my repairs and violin maintenance jobs here. Would highly recommend!
San Marino, CA ★★★★★
# 23
Tuesday, 03/10/2020
Justine L.
Craig is super nice, knowledgeable, and patient. Great service we had today, and price is reasonable!! Highly recommended!
El Monte, CA ★★★★★
# 22
Saturday, 02/22/2020
Julie S.
My inexpensive violin was recommended for change of Bridge and change of string .
Thank you Craig for doing the job real quick in time for our church performance which i need it for practice everyday


Previous Comment: 2019-12-07

My inexpensive violin was recommended for change of Bridge and change of string .
Thank you Craig for doing the job real quick in time for our church performance which i need it for practice everyday
Shafter, CA ★★★★★
# 21
Friday, 12/06/2019
Priscilla G.
Even though Guitar Center charges $35 to re-string a violin, I had it done here complimentary after I purchased strings for only $16. The gentlemen is very knowledgeable in violin stuff and offered helpful tuning tips as well.
Tujunga, CA ★★★★★
# 20
Saturday, 09/21/2019
Nan D.
I still have my high school violin from 50 years ago and needed a bow restringing. When I brought it in to Craig, he said he would check over my violin as well if I brought it in. He not only looked it over, but restrung it for me, gave me some peg dope and and spent time with me and didn't charge extra. Wow! What service and what a great price. You can feel the history surrounding you in his shop. Don't hesitate to bring your stringed instruments to Craig! By the way, I am using my wife's Yelp account.
Lawndale, CA ★★★★★
# 19
Tuesday, 09/17/2019
Lisa A.
Craig provides Wonderful, professional repairs and bow rehairs - at a very reasonable price!
(Yelp's price needs to be changed to "ONE $")
I recommend him highly!
Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 18
Tuesday, 07/23/2019
Pete J.
Craig rehaired my cello bows in record time, with excellent quality bow hair. I asked for a blend of salt'n pepper and the man was gracious and affordable.

Craig is a man of few words, and I sense serious passion in his work! It was a pleasure to find some laughter with him, and I believe he keeps prices affordable there thru his very precise hours. Thank you for your integrity and and craftsmanship, Craig !
East Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 17
Tuesday, 05/21/2019
Stephanie M.
Love coming to Callier-Scollard violins to rehair my bows! He always has time for me when I walk in. Does great work for all my bows! I bring my Coda bows and wooden ones as well!! Price is the greatest! And he can even rush and rehair a bow in a couple hours for a great price! Appreciate his work!
Pasadena, CA ★★★★★
# 16
Sunday, 04/28/2019
Jinny B.
Strings of my daughter's cello that we are renting from elsewhere got super loose due to high heat in my car and I brought it to Callier-Scollard Violins since it was the closest one and the reviews were good. Craig fixed it perfectly and quickly as soon as I brought in the cello. Craig seems knowledgeable and skilled.
Pasadena, CA ★★★★★
# 15
Monday, 02/11/2019
Moses D.
As a violinist, an Artist, a collector of fine violins and someone who has his own TV show, I highly recommend this violin shop for all your musical needs!! In the past Luthia Craig has really impressed me with his knowledge in the arts of violin making. I own three great violins ranging from $100k to $2500.00 and he's been able to handle all that was needed to be done. Especially my 1850's Austrian violin. It survived a firev and I can't believe he brought it back to life! I also appreciate the fact that he takes his time. I now that when I get my instrument back, it'll be in mint condition. As for his prices, I'm amazed that he refuses to increase it just a little bit!! My advice to him would, know your worth. I wouldn't mind paying a little more.
Thank you Craig!! See you soon.
My 1924 French bow needs rehairing.
Sincerely
Mosig
Los Angeles, CA ★★★★★
# 14
Thursday, 01/31/2019
Ben G.
Go to shop for this working musician! I no longer go to other shops. Met Craig for rehairs - and he understood how I played and rehaired my bows to address that - instead of telling me I play wrong. I have been taking my instruments to Craig for the last 5 years or more. He has set up one violin for me. Dressed a finger board on my favorite violin. Installed two violins with L.R. Baggs bridge pickups. Always my first recommendation to any violin or fiddle player.

Add your comment

 
 
Ask Us     Top    

Bass Bows   Bow Rehairs   Cello Bows   Craig Scollard   Los Angeles   Studio City   Viola Bows   Violin Bows   Violin Repairs   Basses   Cellos   Glendale   Hollywood   Pasadena   Rehair   Repairs   Violas   Violins   listed   order   posted   reviews   yelp